Snow ... ?!?

03/01/2013 09:00

So yesterday I went to pick up our son from school and I was having a conversation with his principal who is also a runner.  The conversation went something like this:

Me:  We are going to pick Kyle up Friday by noon.  I am running the Albany Marathon Saturday and we need to get up there before the Expo closes. 

Sandy:  Wow, it's going to be cold.

Me:  I'll be alright.  Nothing more than part of that last winter blast we are getting this weekend here in Florida.

Sandy:  I think they are expecting snow.

Me:  Albany, Georgia ...... not New York ...... Alrighty then, wish me luck.

Snow?  That's funny, everyone hears Albany and thinks New York.  Nobody ever thinks about Georgia and a little known Boston Qualifier called the "Albany Marathon".  As I drove home listening to Kyle carry on about all the day's events, Sandy's comment about snow stuck in the back of my mind.  She is a smart lady, obviously knows the difference between Georgia and New York, and by the look on her face as she gave me the snow prediction, knows what she is talking about.  So upon arrival at the house and Kyle in the background carrying on about a snack and juice box, I quickly plugged Albany, GA in the weather app on my iphone, and low and behold there were little snow flakes on Saturday where the large sunshine icon is supposed to be!!!!!  Oh boy, this is going to be a long race.

 

Besides the initial shock that has set in following this revalation, it has been a good week in our camp.  Stephanie and Kyle have recovered from their respective Disney races and I was able to meet all of my February training goals.  The only thing that is still lacking is the diet and nutrition, as I am having a hard time getting that guy in the mirror to stick to the clean eating plan.  I know I have to do it, I know that I need to do it, and I know that its part of this journey.  Just having a hard time getting my head and mouth around it.

 

Well with the house sitter in place, we are off to Alabany, GA so that I can compete in my only Boston Qualifier for this year and possibly freeze to death.  While it will be too cold for this Florida native to wear his The Tri Shop.com traithlon team kit Saturday, I will be sporting the visor and shirt at the Expo and after I ice skate across the finish line!

This is how I envision Saturday's race