FINISHER

11/04/2013 10:10

And just like that, it's done.

 

This past Saturday night I finally crossed the finish line at Ironman Florida in Panama City Beach, FL.  As you know this has been a very long journey that began with a lecture from my cardiologist about the evils of a sedentary lifestyle and cop diet that turned into a mission to compete in what has been described as the "Most grueling and physically intensive day in sports".  Join me in a quick report of how the day transpired.

 

PRE-GAME SHOW

Stephanie and I woke up at 4:30am and quietly got ready as to not disturb anyone else in the condo.  I was rather quiet as the nervous anxiety that had been bubbling in me was about to boil over.  We quietly walked to the starting area in the 50 degree air that is down right cold for us Floridians.  It was erie as all the athletes walking in the same direction were silent.  The 2/10 of a mile walk felt like a million as I made my way to the Ironman Village which was alive with anxiety and suspense.  Stephanie and I sat quietly on the boardwalk until the announcer asked all athletes to make their way to the beach.  I kissed Stephanie good bye and headed that way, little did I know she was in tears.  I think this was rougher on her than me in most respects.

 

SWIM

At exactly 7am CST, the cannon boomed and we were off.  Over 3,000 people fighting for position in a human washing machine with waves that would throw us all in the air as they crossed the breakers in the Gulf of Mexico.  For 7/10 of a mile I was felt up, kicked, poked, and proded by complete strangers as we all tried to find our own little space.  I finally made it back to shore for lap 1 and was pleasantly surprised to see that I was done in 50 minutes (gave myself 1 hour).  Back in the water for lap 2 that was a little smoother than the first.  Once in my groove, I made my way around the buoys and came out of the water at 1:35 which means that lap 2 was faster than lap 1 - UNBELIEVEABLE!  I was on cloud 9.  A quick strip out of the wet suit and a walk through the fresh water wash and I was on my way to Transition 1.  2.4 miles down and a lot to go.

 

BIKE

My bike was brought to me by a handler like I was a pro which is very cool at the Ironman.  I was in and out of the Transition building with my cycling gear on quicker than I anticipated.  Once out of the Ironman Village and away from the thousands of cheering fans, I settled in for what I had anticipated to be a 6 hour ride.  We went all over Bay and Washington counties in a cold North Florida.  I saw bike crashes and a car crash, watched traffic become hosed up all over the place due to the racers, and started to experience some leg cramps around the 100 mile marker which slowed me down a bit as I stretched them out on the ride.  Once back in the city, the crowd's cheers helped carry me back into Transition to prepare for the run.  Other than the cramping, I was in good shape and even got to see Stephanie and Co. on the way back in, standing in front of the condo.  Total bike time was 6:11 which was over the goal but I still had some time in the bank to use since the swim was quicker than I planned.  112 miles checked off and a marathon left to run.

 

RUN

With run gear on, I was out of Transition and on my way.  The run course is a 2 lap route that takes you through beach front property, neighborhoods, and a desolate state park.  The cheers carried me a long ways and I was rather happy to see how well my body was moving.  I ran the course and walked through all the aid stations for the first lap and then as the sun went down and it became dark and lonely, I would run a half mile then walk a half mile to reserve energy for the finish line.  I was watching people vomit, hobble, and crawl so much that I wanted to finish on my own power and feet!  I had allowed myself 6 hours to finish the marathon and was thrilled to see that I was about to complete it in 5:30!  As I approached the last check point, I got a little emotional as I heard a staffer yell into a walkie talkie back to headquarters "2033 Larry is now entering the finish chute".  26.2 miles was complete.

 

FINISH LINE

After entering the finish chute, I had 2/10 of a mile left to go and the crowds lining the path were off the chain crazy.  We were instructed as we entered the chute to stay in the middle, spread out a little, and high-five the fans, which I did all the way in.  At 13 hours and 31 minutes after starting today, the announcer yelled "Larry Coggins of Lakeland, FL YOU ARE AN IRONMAN!".  I was no longer a candidate in training.  I was now a finisher.  After the medical guy asked me a couple of questions and looked me over, he pushed me through the crowd to collect my finisher gear.  I was not sore or tired for the most part, just hungry and wanted a hot shower.  Stephanie greeted me and I could tell she had a rough day and was glad it was all over. I never dreamed that this would have been so hard on her.  I hate that I put her through so much during this race.

 

Once the bike and gear bags were collected, I was reunited with the family and got a big kiss from Kyle.  I was so glad to see him and hear that he had been good all day for mommy, Aunt Kimmie, Papa, and Miss Renae.  I always worry that he won't behave for others when in actuality, he behaves better for them than he does me!

 

After a much needed hot shower.  I settled in to my requested chicken wings and donuts!  I was humbled to tears to see the hundreds of Facebook posts, emails, and texts from friends and family who had been glued to the computer all day tracking me. 

 

And just like that ..... it's done.

 

Special thanks to my inner spark that pushes and motivates me, David & Renae for coming to Panama City Beach to take part in this event, Aunt Kimmie for traveling all over tarnation with us taking care of Kyle so we can do this nonsense, and Stephanie & Kyle who support me and all my shananigans, I love you both dearly!