Dang alarm clock!

12/29/2012 18:30

Being a dad, husband, and employee comes with some responsibilities that require a degree of responsibility on my part.  Honey do's, school functions, and that career thing just does not stand still for my pursuit of all that is Ironman.  So that means the day starts early.

 

Training for the swim, bike, and run begins around 4am each day so that I am home in time to help get Kyle ready for school, dropped off and in his class on time, and then shower and shaved  for work.  This schedule has suited me well so far, just tweaked now a little earlier than what I am used to.  Surprisingly there are people in the local 25 yard laned pool at this hour, but the run and bike trails are quiet.  I actually enjoy the peace, just the cop in me gets suspicious of people like me that are up at that hour.  Cops believe that only hoodlums and the newspaper boy stir at those ungodly hours.

 

Kyle and Stephanie sacrifice a lot for me when it comes to time away from them when I have to travel for work, not to mention, they become sherpas for me at the races and expos, so at least I can do is slip out of the house in the cloak of darkness every morning to train.

 

While I am not looking forward to the alarm clock in 2013, I know the journey will be well worth it. 

View of the training facility!